November’s pale moths

I ran the moth trap last night and up with 44 moths including a new one for the garden – a micro-moth Acleris sparsana that is basically grey and small, and quiet fast as it fled before I could take its picture.

The most numerous carried on the grey theme – the November and pale November moths I find tricky, the one below I felt leant towards November, but without examining its bits it appears hand to confirm. Clinching an identification in my garden isn’t worth harming the moth.

Other late moths were old friends – five sprawlers, three feathered thorns, a setaceous Hebrew character, a chestnut and a green brindled crescent.

DSCF5685

 

November moth – or pale November moth?

DSCF5689

 

Setaceous Hebrew character

DSCF5687

Feathered thorn 

DSCF5699

Chestnut

DSCF5695

Green brindled crescent

Follow me on twitter.

This entry was posted in Autumn, Godmersham and Crundale, Moths and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment